Daily Archives: August 10, 2010

The Boredom Eats At My Soul

Standard

The past few days I really haven’t done much of anything. I went to this nice pizzeria with my mom and grandpa today. It was the highlight of my day. Even I realize how sad that is.

The first step to destroying my boredom is to get my driver’s license. I don’t know why, but I seem to have this mental block against it. I know I have to do it, but it’s one of those things that just…slips the mind. Kind of like my college placement test I need to take in the next week or so in order to enroll. Ha ha. Clearly, my life is a mess right now.

Don’t get me wrong. It’s not a mess in a depressing way. It’s more like I have no  idea what to do with it. It’s kind of like…I graduated high school, and I just have no idea what to do (I just said that). It’s kind of embarrassing, because it seems so obvious to everyone else. They’re all off to their dorms now, all excited about their new lives and I’m still in my mom’s house wondering what the crap is going on. I do have a plan, and it’s a fairly decent plan that’s nothing to be ashamed of. I’m going to go to community college and live at home for the next year or two. I’ll save up some money and eventually transfer to a university somewhere. It’s much cheaper then going straight to a university I know. But it still feels like I haven’t really moved on from high school. I’m glad to be out of there, but I feel like I’m just going stagnant at home with nothing to do. I spent most of my life thinking I’d be driving a sports car and living in a dorm getting drunk all day with my super gorgeous friends that adored me. I think I’m still in shock that none of that has happened to me yet.

The answer (kind of)? Getting a car. It’s my new big step but it will at least help in making me feel somewhat like an adult. At the very least I can go where I please. Hell, I might even be able to visit the city on weekends since it’s only two hours away. I feel like a hermit living in a cave right now. I wish I lived in the city so I could just go where I pleased, but unfortunately I live in a hell hole that doesn’t have sidewalks or public transportation. My options are quite limited. We’ll see what happens. I’ll start on it this week. Hell I’ll start on it tomorrow. I’m sick of this crap.