I Fail At Gardening

Standard

Earlier this year I made a list. It was a list of my New Year’s Resolutions gone nuts. I think there were about ninety six things I wanted to do with my life on there, one of which included leaving the country. I’m afraid to look at it now, but I’m pretty sure I haven’t even attempted most of it. I did try one thing though, which was gardening. Really I just wanted to grow any one thing. My mom has a garden with herbs and lettuce. I was inspired! I mean how hard could it be? After being told growing corn was a bad idea considering the woodland creatures would eat it, I decided to try my luck at Chinese Forget-Me-Nots.

Photobucket
Aren’t they lovely?

Those are not my flowers. I found those on Google. These are my flowers:

PhotobucketCrap.

So clearly, I did something horribly wrong. I’m still not sure what happened. I followed the instructions, got mother’s seal of approval, sang a ballad or two to my little seedlings…what more did they want? Only two sprouts appeared and one of them just keeled over and died recently. Can you kill a seed? Are they beyond repair? I need to do some research to see if I can save them, but I think it’s over for these little flowers. At least maybe that one persevering sprout stands a chance!

I might try again later but, I don’t know. I’m feeling rather unmotivated right now. It’s always so sad when you accidentally kill a plant or a small animal. There’s this moment of, “EVERYTHING I TOUCH DIES!” That’s pretty much how I feel right now. At least my dogs are relatively sturdy creatures. It’s harder to kill them anyway.

Meanwhile, my mother’s garden is blossoming. Literally, random flowers just appeared in one of the pots and we’re not sure where they came from. Some of the herbs got a little drowned out during a recent storm we had, but I’m still uber jealous of her garden. It’s not very fancy or big. We live in the woods. You can’t expect too much when those scavenger deer eat everything in their path. To protect them, she put most of them on the porch. Except the lettuce. That got abandoned in the wild garden somehow. Take a gander:

Photobucket

Part of her humble garden.

PhotobucketThe lettuce! I love this stuff. You can just pick it and eat it fresh. It’s delicious, though it’s gotten real wild lately as you can see.

PhotobucketThis here’s part of the Wild Garden. Someone must have planted these before we moved in. They grow here ever year.

PhotobucketAs you can see it’s really not maintained…at all.

PhotobucketAnd these are just pretty. They’re flowers, in a basket, that hang. I’m not sure what kind they are (petunias maybe?), but I picked them! See, I contributed something…

There’s a lot more, but it started to rain and I wasn’t determined enough to stay out and take more pictures. That’s only a teeny part of it. Our porch is like a garden wonderland. We also have a lot of seasonal flowers that grow around the property, but naturally I chose a time to blog about this when they all died. They tend to do that. Maybe next year I’ll catch them on time.

And now I’m sad. I wanted to be taking pictures of my pretty flowers by this point, not staring at the soil wondering what went wrong. I suppose I will try again. What do I have to lose (besides another heart break)? I wonder what I’ll plant next time…

About winterwashere

I'm an immature eighteen year old teenager, who loves video games, Asian pop culture and traveling the world (or dreaming about it anyway). On the side I make it my hobby to try to figure out this 'adult' business. Hard to say if it's going well or not...

Leave a Reply

